ElementalsAll elements
Actinide · Element 103

Lawrencium

Lawrencium is a synthetic radioactive element at the end of the actinide sequence, with an unusual ground-state electron arrangement.

Lawrencium closes the actinide sequence with an unusual electron arrangement.

Explore Lawrencium's atom
Atomic number
103
Source isotope mass
266.120 u
Family
Actinide
Period
7
Group
f-block
Standard state
Solid

In everyday life

Lawrencium has research uses and no common commercial application.

Something to remember

Its ground-state electron configuration includes a 7p electron, unlike the older 6d assignment.

Meet its electrons

[Rn] 5f14 7s2 7p1

Current RSC ground-state assignment; PubChem's older 6d1 assignment is overridden.

Electrons per shell: 2 · 8 · 18 · 32 · 32 · 8 · 3.

The playground shows an illustrative shell model. Real electrons are described by quantum orbitals, rather than tiny planets traveling along fixed paths.

A connection to explore

Lawrencium and lutetium end their respective f-block series but have different ground-state orbital assignments.

Meet Lutetium (Lu)

Properties and conditions

Source isotope mass
266.120 uPubChem value for an element without stable isotopes. This is not a standard atomic weight and may be rounded to an isotope mass number; uncertainty is not supplied. CIAAW assigns no standard atomic weight to this element. The PubChem isotope is not necessarily the longest-lived isotope.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Standard state
SolidPubChem classification, including explicit predictions where stated. Reference temperature and pressure are not supplied in the table.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
First ionisation energy
Not reportedEnergy to remove the first electron from an isolated neutral gas-phase atom. Uncertainty is not supplied.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Electronegativity
1.3 Pauling scaleA dimensionless relative measure; values depend on the chosen scale. Uncertainty is not supplied.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Melting point
1900 KPubChem reported value. Pressure, allotrope and measurement uncertainty are not specified in the table; consult the cited source.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Boiling point
Not reportedPubChem reported value. Pressure and measurement uncertainty are not specified in the table; consult the cited source.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Density
Not reportedPubChem reported value. Temperature, pressure, allotrope and measurement uncertainty are not specified in the table; gas densities are especially condition-dependent.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Oxidation states
+3Selected PubChem oxidation states; formal electron bookkeeping, not a list of stable free-ion charges or every possible compound.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Discovery
1961PubChem discovery attribution. Ancient knowledge and competing priority claims cannot always be represented by a single year.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Atomic radius
Not reportedPubChem tabulated radius. Radius definitions depend on bonding and convention; measurement definition and uncertainty are not supplied in this table.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15
Electron affinity
Not reportedPubChem reported gas-phase electron affinity. Sign conventions and electronic states matter; uncertainty is not supplied in this table.PubChem periodic table ↗ · Retrieved 2026-10-15

Isotopes, abundance and decay

Isotopes share a proton count but have different neutron counts. This selection includes naturally tabulated compositions and a reference isotope for other elements. It is not a list of every known isotope.

Explore 1 isotope of Lr
Evaluated ground-state isotopes of Lr
IsotopeRelative atomic massNatural fractionHalf-lifeDecay
Lr-266Reference isotope266.11983(56#)Not tabulated22 h (uncertainty 14)SF=100

Fractions use NIST’s terrestrial isotopic compositions, which can vary by sample. Parentheses denote uncertainty in the last digits. Half-lives and decay branches use NUBASE2020; # marks estimates, >/< mark limits. “No decay observed” follows that evaluation and does not prove permanent stability. Decay branch intensities are percentages; SF means spontaneous fission, EC electron capture, IT an isomeric transition.

NUBASE2020 ↗ · NIST compositions ↗

Follow the science

Use these original references to explore the data and context. Atomic weights can vary with isotope composition; values for elements without stable isotopes may describe a representative isotope rather than a standard atomic weight.